Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 22 – Mt. Diablo Waterfalls Loop, December 26, 2009

On a cold and overcast December 26, 2009, my hiking partner Lt. Cracker and I got together for our last hike of the decade.  Forecasters had said that we’d have 40% cloud cover at 7 AM increasing to 90% as the day progressed, with rain in the afternoon or evening.  We figured we had a small window of opportunity to hike today and decided to do the best we could with it.

We pulled to the end of Regency Gate in Clayton around 9:25 AM.  Our aim was to cover a 5.9 mile loop to see the waterfalls of Mt. Diablo State Park.  This is one of Lt. Cracker’s favorite hikes in the area and we had done this together some years ago.  I too had not been here in a while, and so I was glad to do this loop.

I brought the camera along just in case we got lucky with pictures but expected to not use it at all given the weather forecast.  Worst case, it would be more dead weight in my daypack, thereby increasing the workout component of the hike.

Pages: 1 2 3

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Hike 22 – Mt. Diablo Waterfalls Loop, December 26, 2009

  1. I just did this hike for the first time a week ago. It turned out to be one of the best hikes I’ve done on the mountain.

    • 52hikes on said:

      Miguel, yes I saw the beautiful photographs you took of the waterfalls last week. This is indeed a very pretty hike and moderate enough for most people to enjoy. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hike 27 – Getting the Devil off my back on Mt. Diablo’s Summit, February 13, 2010 « 52 Hikes

  3. Pingback: Hike 23 – Las Trampas Rocky Ridge, January 9, 2010 « 52 Hikes

