Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 21 – Christmas at Chabot, December 25, 2009

Now that winter is officially here, I have mentally reconciled myself to shorter hikes during this season.  Further, I have refined my criteria for selecting locations for winter hikes in the Bay Area:

*  Local hikes, no more than an hour’s drive from home
*  Hikes between 4 and 8 miles long
*  Hiking time between 2 and 4 hours only

Also, I would strive for the following:

*  Start early between 8 and 9 AM
*  Finish early between 11 AM and noon if possible
*  Get back home by noon if possible and no later than 1 PM

With these thoughts in mind, I had been looking at some interesting long hikes in various guidebooks that I could break into shorter hikes to accommodate them within my winter schedule.  I liked some hikes in the Las Trampas and San Leandro Reservoir areas and was looking forward to splitting them into two or three hikes and doing them over the Christmas holidays if possible.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Hike 21 – Christmas at Chabot, December 25, 2009

  1. carol anand on said:

    We’re definitely going to have to try some of these hikes! You photos are so enticing!

  2. 52hikes on said:

    Thanks Carol. Hiking in winter here has its advantages. Mainly green hills and dramatic lighting.

  3. I’ve been hiking around Chabot, and also noted that the Brittle Leaf seems to end too soon. (I’ve searched fruitlessly on google for an explanation and found this blog) Anyways, I decided to follow it all the way down. I found that there is indeed a fairly well marked trail though not well kept(there are a few places where you have to crouch), and it goes all the way down to Redwood Road. The trail becomes VERY steep after you pass the bench, and the ground is covered in dead leaves which makes it easy to slip. About half way down, it levels out briefly and there is a clearing in the foliage, which I believe is where the trail ends on the map. I continued on, though there is no doubt this part of the trail is unofficial, as it becomes a harder to follow, and quite a bit steeper in places. Finally, it comes out at a large turn-off on Redwood Road, which seems to have been intentionally(and perhaps recently) blocked off with a wall of dirt along the road. Of course, there was no place to go but back up, and I can tell you it was not for the faint at heart. If you’re at Chabot and want to try something a bit more challenging, this is the trail for you.

    • 52hikes on said:

      Thank Eric. I shall definitely follow the trail you mention. Challenges are good. 🙂

