Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 18 – The Ridges of Las Trampas, December 6, 2009

Lately I’ve been obsessing about an old song by Kris Kristofferson called “Sunday Morning Going Down”. It has been covered by many musicians and I really like Phosphorescent’s version of it. You can listen to it here:

The lyrics are amazing and I wish I could write half as well as Mr. Kristofferson.

Well I woke up Sunday morning
With no way to hold my head that didn’t hurt
And the beer I had for breakfast wasn’t bad
So I had one more for dessert
Then I fumbled through my closet for my clothes
And found my cleanest dirty shirt
And I shaved my face and combed my hair
And stumbled down the stairs to meet the day…

I woke up early Sunday morning and logged on to the computer. Yes, I wanted to get an early start on my hike, but I also needed my morning dose of the Internet. An hour later I reluctantly shut the computer down and thought about the hike. Until a few days ago, I had no plans of hiking this weekend, but the weather forecast had changed and this was going to be the best opportunity I would have for a while. After that, either the weather would turn unkind or I had other commitments. Already behind on my trekking goals, I did not want to fall further behind.

So somewhat reluctantly I got out of bed, shaved, showered and put my hiking clothes on. At 8:20 AM, I pulled into the Las Trampas Staging Area parking lot. The temperature was 42 degrees and the speed limit in the last section of the road was 15 mph. I was glad it wasn’t the other way around. Still, 42 is cold enough for me. I would gladly take 50 degrees any day.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hike 18 – The Ridges of Las Trampas, December 6, 2009

  1. Pingback: Hike 23 – Las Trampas Rocky Ridge, January 9, 2010 « 52 Hikes

