Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 17 – Under Cupid’s Spell in San Francisco, November 29, 2009

Early in the morning on the last Sunday of November, I was driving over the Bay Bridge heading towards San Francisco.  The world looked like it was encased in crystal, and I thought how fortunate I was to have picked this day for a friendly saunter through the city.  The sky was blue and the air clear as far as my eyes could see.  Oh yeah, this would be a great hike.

Not surprisingly, my happy and smiling face pulled into the Battery East parking lot near the Golden Gate Bridge.  The time was 8:00 AM and temperature 57 degrees.  Perfect!  My plan today was to walk from the Golden Gate Bridge down to Cupid’s Span along the Embarcadero, and back.  The icing on the cake was that I was only 30 minutes late instead of 2.5 hours late, like the day before when I had hiked the Coastal Trail to Alamere Falls and the “Lake District” in Point Reyes National Seashore.

The Golden Gate Bridge

The Golden Gate Bridge

Stepping out of the car I noticed the high winds and as a precautionary measure, tightened my hat to prevent it from blowing off.  I also wrapped a jacket over myself because the bridge could get windy and cold.  Now I was ready to re-experience one of my favorite walks in San Francisco.  To keep it interesting, I had made two changes this time around:
1.  Reversed the starting and ending points, and
2.  I was walking on a weekend.  I have done this section on weekdays only.

I was not sure how it would all work out, as crossing the Golden Gate Bridge has always been the highlight of this walk for me, and this time I was covering it first.

The Bridge Cafe

The Bridge Cafe

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

