Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 16 – Alamere Falls and the “Lake District,” November 28, 2009

As I gritted my teeth and cut the steering wheel once again harshly to the right, I thought, “Man, if this drive doesn’t end soon, I am going to be in no position to hike today.”  It was a long dizzying ride heading up Highway 1 in Marin County.  With each passing mile, my desire to explore a new trail slipped a notch lower.

I quickly looked at the clock on the radio and calculated how late I was.  On most days, I would be well into the return section of my hike by now, but today I was still experiencing g-forces in a car speeding towards the trailhead.  At 10:45 AM, I pulled into the Palomarin Trailhead parking lot of Pt. Reyes National Seashore.  With regret, I noted that I should have been here at least two and a half hours earlier.

After cutting the engine, I sat in the car for a minute to clear my head and think.  I could call it a lost day, head for a coffee shop and then go home.  The National Weather Service had issued a high wind and high surf advisory for the area and placed it on flood-watch too.  I could always use safety as an excuse and weasel out of the hike.  Or I could continue to sit here until the next course of action calmly came to me.

Suddenly, four cars noisily sped into the lot searching for parking spaces closest to the trailhead.  Yikes!  More company!  Instinctively, I grabbed my daypack and slung it over my shoulders and hit the trail.  A decision had been forced on me.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hike 16 – Alamere Falls and the “Lake District,” November 28, 2009

  1. Pingback: Hike 17 – Under Cupid’s Spell in San Francisco, November 29, 2009 « 52 Hikes

