Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 14 – Traipsing Around Tennessee Valley, November 21, 2009

Tennessee Beach

Tennessee Beach

After a long drive that involved crossing two bridges and two tunnels, at 10:25 AM I pulled into a very crowded parking lot at the end of Tennessee Valley Road in Marin County.  After some difficulty, I found a spot along the side of the road.  The temperature was 47 degrees and the sky was picture-perfect blue.  A few clouds adorned the sky.

My first destination was the Tennessee Valley Trail to the beach.  From there I would backtrack a bit to pick up the Coastal Trail to Muir Beach.  Then I would turn back and retrace my steps to the car.  For weeks I had been looking forward to this hike.  A few guidebooks had raved about it and mentioned that the Tennessee Valley Trail was very popular with bikers, joggers, horse riders and families.

Tennessee Valley Trail and Beach

Tennessee Valley Trail and Beach

Since it had been a long drive to get here and I was starting the hike late in the morning, I was already feeling hungry.  So, before setting foot on the trail, I had a quick snack and then got going.  Even though guidebooks had mentioned the popularity of this trail, I was surprised by the crowds.  While it was too early to form an opinion, I was not enjoying the congestion.  It had me feeling mobbed and rushed.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Hike 14 – Traipsing Around Tennessee Valley, November 21, 2009

  1. Sharmila on said:

    Those photos of Tennessee beach are amazing in an absolute wish-I-was-there-right-now kind of way! This is one hike I would love I think. What splendid vistas!

    • 52hikes on said:

      You should go there. It is stunning. I’m sure you and Amey can capture the vistas better than I could. 🙂

