Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 10 – Golden Gate Overdose, September 27, 2009

Early on a Sunday morning, I got in the car with the aim of steering it towards San Francisco.  I was planning to go on an “urban hike.”  A few weeks back I wanted to do this but rain had washed the day off.  But today looked perfect for it.

The beginning

The beginning

Digging through the CD collection in the car looking for music to accompany me for the drive over, I rediscovered a gem: Mark Knopfler’s excellent album “Sailing To Philadelphia.”  I think this album is one of his best, even though it is about 10 years old now.

I admit to breaking speed limits in many states while listening to Mr. Knopfler’s “Speedway At Nazareth” on our cross-country drive in 2000.  This song always kicks my pulse and the speedometer on high.  The album sounds amazing driving through the prairie roads of Kansas or the open desert roads of Nevada.  But it works for me on the streets of San Francisco too.

The morning drive was uneventful until I got to the Golden Gate Park.  I was hoping to cut through the park on my way towards the Sutro Baths parking lot.  Unfortunately the road was closed due to the “Now And Zen” music festival hosted by a local radio station.  However there were no signs saying the road was closed and I almost ran into the barricades before safely stopping.

Along the trail

Along the trail

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Hike 10 – Golden Gate Overdose, September 27, 2009

  1. The first photo (The beginning) is ablolutely gorgeus! I love its pastel colors.

  2. I would appreciate more visual materials, to make your blog more attractive, but your writing style really compensates it. But there is always place for improvement

    • 52hikes on said:

      Thanks for the feedback. I have started including more photographs and maps in the write-ups based on similar feedback from others. 🙂

