Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 9 – A Point Reyes Special, September 26, 2009

Early in the morning, getting ready for a long drive to Marin County, I dug through the CDs in the car to find something that would be worthy of this beautiful journey.  Fortunately, I found an old gem; Johnny Cash Live At San Quentin.

Sky Trail

Sky Trail

Driving on the Richmond-San Rafael Bridge with Johnny Cash shaking the windows of the car, I noticed San Quentin State Penitentiary straight in front of me, Mt Tamalpais beyond it and a golden California sunrise silhouetting the bridge in my rear view mirror.  This was one of the few times I really enjoyed how this bridge looks and the views it offers.

Live At San Quentin is an amazing recording and it would probably make my “desert island” CD list.  I particularly like the song “I Don’t Know Where I’m Bound” written by a San Quentin inmate that Johnny Cash sang for the first time on this recording.  The introduction to the song says it all.

Of course I can’t just share just one Johnny Cash song with you. 😀  In my mind, he was the original Punk musician.  Punk country before Punk anything.  I’ve included his fantastic cover of Soundgarden’s “Rusty Cage.”

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

