Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 6 – Searching for John Muir Behind Locked Gates, August 22, 2009

Once again on a Saturday morning, I was driving to another East Bay community.  Technically I was driving but I felt more like a recovering alcoholic wandering the aisles of a liquor store.  Both sides of the road were lined with all kinds of temptations like fast food restaurants and breakfast cafes.

Donuts, burgers, burritos and tacos all have an extraordinary grip on me.  In addition, diners and mom & pop cafes have a special place in my cholesterol-crusted heart.  Any place that can raise my cholesterol 50 points by just breathing the air brings me to my knees.  And the smell of fried bacon and coffee turn me into a subservient slave.

Oh yeah, this hike was in serious jeopardy.  A stack of pancakes, greasy sausages and hash browns is all that it would take.  After that the only thing I could do would be to stretch on a park bench and sleep the rest of the day off.  Especially on this weekend when the weather was supposed to be so perfect that it could make any tropical island sear with jealousy.

H6-P1

Since I come from a family that considers gluttony a virtue, it took the determination of a vegan and the eyes of a blind person to leave that highway of sin without giving in to temptation.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Hike 6 – Searching for John Muir Behind Locked Gates, August 22, 2009

  1. Raj keep up the good work and let me know if you need and AC/DC tune suggestion to get you inspired.

    There are WINK tunes at your disposal too.

    GO RAJ!

  2. Wink,

    Thanks for the encouragement. You know these days I prefer Angus Beef over Angus Young but I can still handle the occasional AC/DC or AC/DShe (www.acdshe.com). However, I’m always ready for any Wink tune. 🙂

    Raj

