Journey: 52 Hikes and more

Hike 3 – Volcanoes, Berries and Redwoods, July 26, 2009

On a cool Saturday morning, I was speeding away towards the hills of Berkeley listening to Jim White sing, “10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road.” Hmm, what are the odds that I would regret this hike and sing this tune in a few hours, I considered quietly. The scars from the previous two hikes were still fresh on my mind. Notably, when I ran out of water on a very hot hike just a week back. One more bad hike and this project could easily slide into a coma, on questionable life support. It was important for me to have a successful (read long, satisfying and enjoyable) hike today.

If you’re curious as to how the song goes, you can listen to it here.

H-3 P-1

I hike because I enjoy hiking. While the challenge is important sometimes, I tolerate danger or pain up to a point. Now, if the weather(wo)man could be trusted, this might turn out to be a pleasurable outing. The temperatures were running unseasonable cool and ideal for a hike anywhere, even though this is peak summer and high temperatures hover around the 90’s and 100’s. A thick layer of fog hung over and around the hills like frosting on a cake. I’m happy with frosting, cake or fog, among other things.

Trail maps indicated that there was plenty of water available along it. There was no danger of running out of water this time. And there were plenty of restrooms to respectfully dispose off the excess water. Still, I carried 62 oz. of Gatorade on me and left a 32 oz. bottle of water on duty as backup in the car. My terrorized brain admitted that this was beyond overkill but it needed assurances and positive experiences before it would release it’s grip on paranoia.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Hike 3 – Volcanoes, Berries and Redwoods, July 26, 2009

  1. carol anand on said:

    Hi Raj,

    I’m really enjoying your blog and photos. When you finish your 52 hikes will you publish your book? It’s very well written and entertaining. Didn’t know you were such a wonderful photographer! I subscribed to your RSS feed and will be hiking with you, except I’ll be doing it in front of my computer! You are inspiring me though.There are so many exquisite places in the bay area. How lucky we are!

    Cheers.

    • 52hikes on said:

      Thanks Carol. Glad you’re enjoying them. I’m hoping to turn this into a book but have had no discussions with publishers yet. I suppose I could always self-publish an e-book. At least this gets me hiking more regularly so it is a no-lose situation even if this does not result in a book. The Bay Area is a special place. 🙂

      Best,

      Raj

  2. Raj,

    Congrats on taking it easy and not viewing it as a race.

    If you love races, great! Otherwise, just take it easy. And if you prefer to watch TV, do that. 😉

    Nice photos!

    HYOH!

    Francis

